News & Events

2013 Peer Leader Award Announced

For the second year running, a Curtin University UniPASS Peer Learning Facilitator has won an Outstanding New Leader award at the Australasian Peer Leader Awards.

Ms Terri da Costa, a Health Science student and mother of 6, is being recognised for her outstanding contribution to student and peer learning, and her exemplary demonstration of commitment and leadership to the UniPASS program. She, along with four other category winners, will be formally presented with her award courtesy of The National Centre for PASS at this year’s 9th Annual PASS Forum in Sydney, hosted by the University of Wollongong. 

Catherine Unite, Director of the University College Learning Center at the University of Texas at Arlington, adjudicated the awards, and stated that the number of outstanding submissions each year makes the process increasingly challenging. “As international adjudicator, it was a privilege to review such outstanding entries which reflect the wonderful work of the peer educators from the Australasian region.”

Other award winners include:

  • Mr Akaash Prasad, Fiji National University
  • Miss Kelsea Clingeleffer, University of Tasmania
  • Ms Kylie Renee Ellwood, University of Western Sydney
  • Mr Michael Lousick, Griffith University
  • Miss Hayley Horwood, University of Otago
  • Miss Hannah Rodwell, University of Wollongong
  • Alexander Meekin, Shirley-Anne Hu, James Kirkpatrick, Naomi Pan, Claudia Yeap, and Mario Moreno, University of Sydney

Congratulations to you all!

The UniPASS program at Curtin is a voluntary, peer-facilitated, cooperative, academic assistance program that targets historically difficult courses, assisting in the transition and retention of first and second year students.

Posted 10 September 2013 Posted in General