Equity Fellowship Program

Applications invited for the 2024 Equity Fellowship Program

The National Centre for Student Equity in Higher Education’s (NCSEHE) is pleased to launch its 2024 Equity Fellowship Program.

The Program is providing up to three fully-funded year-long fellowships for researchers and practitioners in higher education to complete a project that will inform an area of higher education practice and policy, via a combination of research, research translation, best practice implementation, evaluation, and knowledge transfer.

Fellowships are open to employees of Australian universities currently receiving funding for equity programs through the Australian Government’s Higher Education Participation and Partnerships Program (HEPPP).

Applications are encouraged from staff from a broad range of backgrounds (practitioners, researchers, managers), areas (any areas that contribute to enhancing student equity/student experience, including, but not limited to, designated equity roles) and career stages (early, middle, later).

Up to three Equity Fellowships valued up to $230,000 each for one year will be awarded in 2024.

Applications open on Monday 21 August 2023 and close at 8pm AWST on Thursday 28 September 2023. The NCSEHE will acknowledge receipt of all applications submitted and outcomes of the selection process will be announced in late November 2023.

More information, including details on how to apply, is available below. To assist applicants with the preparation of their applications, the NCSEHE can provide, on request, a copy of successful proposals from previous fellowships rounds courtesy of successful Fellows who have generously granted the Centre permission to do so.

Equity Fellowship Program_Guidelines (285KB)

Equity Fellowship_Application Pack (380KB)

Equity Fellowship_Application Pack (124KB)

Did you know?

Since 2016, the NCSEHE Equity Fellows Program has supported 14 Fellows to undertake high-impact projects, specifically to improve higher education access, participation and success for students from disadvantaged backgrounds. Previous Fellows include Dr Cathy Stone, Associate Professor Erica Southgate, Dr Nadine Zacharias, Mr James Smith, Ms Louise Pollard, Dr Matt Brett, Professor Maria Raciti, Professor Sarah O’Shea, Dr Nicole Crawford, Dr Janine Delahunty, Dr Katelyn Barney, Mr David Eckstein, Dr Andrea Simpson and Dr Tim Pitman. You can find the Fellows’ respective research reports here on the NCSEHE website.