Advisory Committee

National Centre for Student Equity in Higher Education Advisory Committee members

The National Centre for Student Equity in Higher Education’s Advisory Committee comprises an experienced and knowledgeable group of academics and equity advocates. The Advisory Committee’s primary responsibility is to review and select Student Equity in Higher Education Research Grants Program proposals for funding.

Emer. Prof. Lesley Parker


Emeritus Professor Lesley Parker has dedicated many years to leadership, research, teaching and policy development in higher education. As well as serving as a member or chair of the councils of numerous schools, colleges and industry bodies, Lesley has authored many publications, especially in the area of gender equity in science and mathematics education, and was awarded the Order of Australia in 1998.

Prof. Michele Fleming

University of Canberra

Professor Michele Fleming is the Dean of Students and Director, Student Engagement Directorate at the University of Canberra. Michele’s role encompasses the development of initiatives, programs and policies designed to support and improve the student experience. Michele also has responsibility for the University’s student support services and its widening participation strategy and programs.

Prof. Liz Cameron

Deakin University

Professor Liz Cameron is Director of the Koorie Institute at Deakin University. Liz has a strong background in Indigenous higher education leadership, with expertise in proactively developing key strategies at a senior management level, is skilled in applying qualitative/quantitative research, and has extensive experience in operational community development management and higher educational leadership, and an ongoing commitment to social justice.

A/Prof. John Guenther

Flinders University

Associate Professor John Guenther is the Principal Research Leader for the Remote Education Systems project with the Cooperative Research Centre for Remote Economic Participation at Flinders University. John has worked as a researcher and evaluator in remote Australian contexts—particularly the Northern Territory—for the last 10 years on issues related to education, training, families and children, justice, child protection and domestic violence.

Prof. Denise Wood

CQUniversity Australia

Professor Denise Wood is Professor of Learning, Equity, Access and Participation at CQUniversity Australia. Denise's research focuses on strategies for increasing the social and educational participation of people from disadvantaged backgrounds and she has been awarded more than $5 million in research income over the last five years for projects involving participatory action research with children and young people with disability, and Indigenous youth from regional and remote locations.

Ms Lara Rafferty

Equity Practitioners in Higher Education Australasia

Lara is currently Manager of the Equity and Diversity Unit within the Students Group at RMIT University, a post she’s held for 3 years now, where she assists enrolled students from equity target groups by removing barriers and providing support to students who may be at risk of not being able to access or successfully complete tertiary study. Prior to this, she was Manager, Fairness and Diversity at the University of Melbourne. She also holds the position of Board Director of Women’s Health West., and is Secretary of the Equity Practitioners in Higher Education Australasia.