News & Events

Universities Australia Higher Education Conference 2018

Event Details
National Convention Centre, Canberra
28 February 2018

The 2018 Universities Australia Conference, Future Fundamentals, was held in Canberra from 28 February to 1 March. The Keynote Address was delivered by The Hon Bruce Reed (Co-Chair Future of Work Initiative, Aspen Institute) who spoke on the future workforce, while Professor Margaret Gardner AO (Chair, Universities Australia) gave an engaging National Press Club Address. Ministerial and Opposition Addresses were given by Senator the Hon Simon Birmingham and The Hon Tanya Plibersek respectively.

NCSEHE representatives Maria Raciti, Louise Pollard, Nadine Zacharias and myself were among over 1,100 delegates who benefited from the valuable networking and information-sharing opportunities offered by this successful event.

2017 NCSEHE Equity Fellow Louise Pollard shared insights from her forthcoming Fellowship project in a session on regional and remote student success, alongside Prof. Marcia Devlin (RMIT University), Prof. Jonathan Powles (University of New England), Prof. Andrew Taggart (Murdoch University),and Prof. John Dewar (La Trobe University). The session was Chaired by Prof. Jill Milroy (The University of Western Australia).

Event information

Universities Australia is the national peak body representing Australia’s 39 comprehensive universities. Delivered by the sector for the sector, the Higher Education conference is the annual signature event on the Australian higher education calendar attracting more than 900 delegates. Participants include Vice-Chancellors, Chancellors, senior university representatives, Government representatives, industry representatives, members of our research community, international education specialists, media and those with an interest in higher education.

The 2018 conference theme – Future Fundamentals – had speakers exploring the fundamental role of universities in teaching, learning and research as they reinvent themselves in a new political, economic and technological environment.

The conference featured an exceptional lineup of keynote speakers including:

  • Mr Bruce Reed, Co-Chair of the Aspen Institute Future of Work Initiative
  • Professor Genevieve Bell, College of Engineering and Computer Science, ANU
  • Professor Hugh Durrant-Whyte, Director of the Centre for Translational Data, The University of Sydney
  • Dr Alan Finkel AO, Australia’s Chief Scientist
  • Professor Margaret Gardner, Chair, Universities Australia
  • Professor Ian Williamson, Pro-Vice-Chancellor & Dean of Commerce, Victoria Business School, Victoria University, Wellington
  • Senator the Hon Simon Birmingham, Minister for Education and Training
  • The Hon Tanya Plibersek MP, Deputy Leader of the Opposition and Shadow Minister for Education and Training
  • Dame Anne Glover, Vice Principal, External Affairs & Dean for Europe, University of Aberdeen
  • Mr Ahmed Fahour, Former Managing Director and Group CEO, Australia Post
  • Professor Glyn Davis, Vice-Chancellor, University of Melbourne
  • Professor Ian O’Connor, Vice-Chancellor and President, Griffith University
  • Ms Jean Kittson, Actor, Comedian, Author, Public Speaker and Commentator

This high-calibre program continued into the concurrent sessions with the following speakers:

  • Professor Barney Glover, Vice-Chancellor and President, Western Sydney University
  • Professor Tim Brailsford, Vice-Chancellor and President, Bond University
  • Professor Eeva Leinonen, Vice-Chancellor, Murdoch University
  • Professor John Dewar, Vice-Chancellor and President, La Trobe University
  • Mr Anthony McClaren, CEO, TEQSA
  • Mr Sam Watson, Head of Global Infrastructure and Government, National Australia Bank
  • Professor Beverley Oliver, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education), Deakin University
  • Professor Suzi Derbyshire, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Learning and Teaching), Queensland University of Technology
  • Professor Jonathan Powles, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Academic), The University of New England
  • Professor Marcia Devlin, Associate Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education), RMIT University
  • Professor Steven Larkin, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous Education and Research), The University of Newcastle
  • Professor Andrew Taggart, Provost, Murdoch University
  • Professor Joanne Wright, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic), The University of Queensland
  • Dr Vianne Timmons, President & Vice-Chancellor, University of Regina and Chair of Universities Canada International Committee
  • Mr Tuari Potiki, Director of Maori Development, University of Otago
  • Professor Mike Woods, Professor of Health Economics UTS Business School; Independent Reviewer, COAG Health Council Accreditation Systems Review
  • Ms Jennifer Nobbs, Executive Director of Activity Based Funding, Independent Hospital Pricing Authority
  • Mr Iain Watt, Pro Vice-Chancellor (International), The University of Western Australia
  • Mr Laurie Pearcey, Pro Vice-Chancellor (International), UNSW Sydney
  • Ms Stephanie Faye, CEO, Austrade
  • Mr Warwick Smith AM, LLB, Senior Managing Director, International and Institutional Banking, ANZ Bank
  • Dr Kirrilee Hughes, CEO, AFS Australia
  • Ms Louise Pollard, 2017 Equity Fellow, The University of Western Australia
  • Ms Lucy Mercer-Mapstone, PhD Candidate, The University of Queensland
  • Mr Philip Marcus Clark AM
  • Mr Don Knapp, CEO, Australian University Sport

For further information visit the Universities Australia website.

Posted 19 January 2018